Posted by Laura Ercoli on Friday November 24th, 2017

2018 edition of EUIPO’s DesignEuropa Awards kicks off


Registered Community design holders, whether individuals or enterprises, are encouraged to sumbit entries for the DesignEuropa Awards, intended to celebrate design registration as the step from idea to business asset.

The European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), in charge of registering Community designs, has launched the second edition of the DesignEuropa Awards for excellence in design and in the management of design as an intellellectual property right.

The awards celebrate the owners of registered community designs in an effort to promote the registration of designs in the European Union as a passage from idea to company asset.


There are three DesignEuropa categories:
a) Industry Award: for the registered designs owned by companies with more than 50 employees and over €10 million in turnover/€10 million balance sheet total.

b) Small and Emerging Companies Award: for the registered designs owned by companies with fewer than 50 employees and less than €10 million turnover/€10 million balance sheet total, or for companies established after January 1 2014, regardless of size.

c) Lifetime Achievement Award: individual designers with a significant body of work of aesthetic value, created over the course of a career, which has also had a demonstrable impact on the marketplace.

Candidates in categories a) e b) must be registered community designs valid at the time of sending the application, with no pending invalidity proceedings. Finalist designs must retain their validity throughout the selection and award period.

Candidates in category c) must have made use of the registered community design system for their work.

Who may submit entries

Entries may be submitted either on the candidate’s own initiative, or by the Awards’ promoters or by any other person, entity or institution that wishes to propose a candidate.


Applications must be filed by 15 May 2018. There is no fee for applying.

Selection process

Entries will be evaluated by a jury of qualified experts with ample experience in business, design and intellectual property.
The jury will base their selection on the following criteria:
• aesthetic value and visual appeal
• demonstrable impact on the market
• sound marketing and management of design and other intellectual property rights.

Awards ceremony

The Awards ceremony is to take place in November 2018 in Warsaw. Up to four finalists for each category will be invited to the ceremony and EUIPO will cover their travel and accommodation costs.

Related posts